30 years of helping the Black-footed ferret

September 26th marks the 30th anniversary of the discovery of what was believed to be the last 24 wild black-footed ferrets in North America.  Hooray for our beloved black-footed ferrets.  The Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute has learned so much about ferret husbandry; this year fifty-one kits were born at SCBI.  Fifty survive. You can watch a ferretcam at the National Zoo here:http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/NorthAmerica/default.cfm

Black-footed Ferret Mustela nigripes at Louisv...

Image via Wikipedia

 

About Marsha Diane Arnold

Children's books are where I play. My passions are children's literature and the amazing animals and plants that inhabit our planet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 30 years of helping the Black-footed ferret

  1. About 21 years ago, a friend of mine tried to get me to write a book about ferrets – pets and black-footed and more – but I was not ready yet. I think you should write one! I would buy one for me and one for my friend. 🙂

Leave a comment