30 years of helping the Black-footed ferret

September 26th marks the 30th anniversary of the discovery of what was believed to be the last 24 wild black-footed ferrets in North America.  Hooray for our beloved black-footed ferrets.  The Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute has learned so much about ferret husbandry; this year fifty-one kits were born at SCBI.  Fifty survive. You can watch a ferretcam at the National Zoo here:http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/NorthAmerica/default.cfm

Black-footed Ferret Mustela nigripes at Louisv...

Image via Wikipedia

 

About Marsha Diane Arnold

Children's books are where I play. My passions are children's literature and the amazing animals and plants that inhabit our planet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 years of helping the Black-footed ferret

  1. About 21 years ago, a friend of mine tried to get me to write a book about ferrets – pets and black-footed and more – but I was not ready yet. I think you should write one! I would buy one for me and one for my friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

